WHY RETAIL THERAPY DOESN’T WORK

Hello everyone!

This post won’t be about make-up. Not specifically about make-up. Today I will talk to you about why I think retail therapy doesn’t work. Of course, this is my own opinion, if you think different about it you are completely entitled to your own opinion, like you always are.

Retail therapy is described as the practice of shopping in order to make oneself feel more cheerful. If you feel bad, are unhappy or just having a shit day, shopping or spending money can make you feel better. It’s described as often a short lived phenomenon but in reality it can take a really long time.

download

Since I’m going through a difficult time right now I’ve caught myself often in the act. I’m also guilty of spending money to make myself feel better. This is the part where I tell you why I think retail therapy doesn’t work. When I go shopping, mostly for make-up or clothes, I always feel great. I’m excited for what I’m going to buy, I enjoy my time in the shops and I’m happy. And that’s the whole deal about retail therapy.

But the backsplash is so big. Almost immediately after I leave the store with my new purchases in hand I feel awful. I feel awful about spending money on things I don’t actually need. These ‘comfort buys’ are not what I need. I also feel awful because the shopping didn’t solve my problems. It only made feel better for that half an hour in the shop. The bad feeling I get after last so much longer. Life won’t be great instantly because you bought something you really wanted or needed.

Life is sad, miserable and lonely sometimes, that’s the honest truth. Another truth is that shopping won’t fill that void you feel. It will make you feel better for only a short amount of time. It won’t solve your problems.

The only things that can get you out of that funk that make life worth living. Friends, family, hobbies, and things you really enjoy. If you really enjoy shopping and make-up then do it but not because you think you have to to feel better. Go out. Do something adventurous. Do something you never thought you would do. The thrill you get from these activities will be so much bigger and better and longer lasting than retail shopping.

9f73c22aa9e73fb76198f8d9109cddb9

I’m not preaching here to never go shopping again or to completely ban retail shopping from your life. I’m still guilty. I still go retail shopping. I do it more than I should and want but I still do it. It doesn’t help me but sometimes the darkness or loneliness is too big to ignore. I’ve gotten better though. I can control my urges. I try not to go shopping every time I want to. I try to control myself so I’m not constantly buying stuff online. I’ve gotten better at it but I’m not cured. I want to get back to that time that I didn’t need all the retail therapy.

It will all get better in the end. Retail therapy doesn’t last forever. If you find yourself in a similar situation, try to find different things that make you happy. Don’t rely on the shopping to be your only happiness because it won’t last. Live your life, that’s the only advice I can give you.

I’ll see you again and until then: enjoy every minute of life!

Xoxo, Polly

tumblr_static_flowers

Leave a Reply

