MAY FAVOURITES

Hello everyone!

Today I’m sharing with you the things that brought me the most joy during the month of May.

Favorites - skincare

The first thing I really enjoyed is the Nivea soothing toner. I’ve been using it every single day since I got it. I really like it. After I take off my makeup, I go over my face once more with a little toner on a cotton pad. Even when I didn’t wear makeup, I still do this to get all the dirt from the day off. Toners are meant to bring the pH of your skin back in balance. I’ve noticed that I’ve had a lot less breakouts this month and I think it’s because I’m using this.

IMG_2149

The next item is a makeup remover. Since the beginning of this month I’ve been using the Avène Tolérance extreme Cleansing Lotion. You can compare it to the famous Clinique Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm. I just squirt a little on my hand and massage it into my skin. Then I take it off with a cotton pad soaked in rosewater. It removes my makeup really well and it’s very easy. There’s really no excuse to go to sleep with your makeup on when it’s this easy to take off. The only downside to this product is that it looks a little like semen. When I first squirted it out of the tube I almost didn’t want to put it on my face. But once you get over that shock, it’s really no big deal.

IMG_2345

 

Favorites - beauty

The first beauty favourite of the month is not really a product. It’s a brush! I got this NYX Pro Multi-Purpose Buffing Brush. I use this to buff in my foundation and it works really well. It gives me more coverage than with a beauty blender and it doesn’t soak up as much product as a sponge does. It also doesn’t give me streaks when I buff the liquid nicely.

IMG_2344

The next item is a foundation and it’s the Wet ‘n Wild Photofocus Foundation. I got it in my last Boozyshop haul and I’m really happy with it. It looks really nice on the skin and is an almost perfect shade match. I’m really happy that they make a difference between cool, neutral and warm undertones and mention it on the actual packaging so you can easily see which shade will work for you.

IMG_2263

Next I have two lipsticks, both are also from my recent Boozyshop haul. The first one is the Makeup Revolution Rose Gold lipstick in the colour Chauffeur. This is I think my perfect nude. Or it comes really close. It’s not too pink but it’s also not too brown. I really love this lipstick.

The other lipstick is the Makeup Revolution Renaissance Lipstick in the colour Awaken. This one is a lot more bright than I anticipated but that’s a good thing because I want to get into wearing brighter lipstick for the summer. This lipstick is like a perfect starting-out colour. I really like the formula of the Makeup Revolution lipsticks. They have a satin finish so they are quite moisturizing but they don’t fade away in two hours, they stay on quite well.

 

Favorites - music

The first song I discovered in May is Lust for Life by Lana Del Rey and The Weeknd. I love Lana Del Rey and The Weeknd separately so together is like my dream song. I like how their voices sound together.

The next song is Dutch and is more like a new guilty pleasure song because it’s not really my style but I like to listen to it to imagine myself at a party. It’s Kind Van De Duivel by Jebroer and Dj Paul Elstak.

The last song is Oceans Away by A R I Z O N A. It’s perfect background noise. Every time I play it in the background I ask myself: “What song is that? It’s really good.”

Favorites - movies

I have two movies to mention this month. Actually it’s almost the same movie because it’s both the new and the original one. I’m of course talking about Beauty and the Beast. I went to see the new one in theatres with my friends and it was amazing, so beautiful. If you haven’t seen it yet, I highly suggest you go see it. I even cried a little bit. (That’s a good sign.)

beauty and the beast 2017

So of course I wanted to see the original one again. At home we have the old VHS tape in Dutch and I felt so little again when I saw it. I even had to rewind it before I could see it because young Polly was too lazy to do it after she saw it, classic Polly.

beauty-and-the-beast 1991

 

Favorites - wattpad

This month I have one recommendation for you on Wattpad. I read more than one book but this one really stood out. It’s Virtue and Vice by ninyatippett. By now you will have noticed that I like to read books for adult audiences. I like it when there is some mature stuff, if you’re not into that, let me know I’ll give you some recommendations that aren’t mature.

Virtue and Vice

https://www.wattpad.com/story/5399509-virtue-and-vice

 

That were my favourites for May. I know it’s not a lot but I didn’t wear makeup that much this month. Thank you for reading and as always:

I’ll see you again and until then: enjoy every minute of life!

Xoxo, Polly

tumblr_static_flowers

 

1 thought on “MAY FAVOURITES”

  1. Everyone seems to love that Wet ‘n Wild Photofocus Foundation. I’ve honestly not heard anyone hate it.
    For a second, I thought that Makeup Revolution Renaissance Lipstick was a Charlotte Tilbury lipstick! Such a pretty colour and packaging.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

